Arends inducted as Fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Robin Arends, Assistant Professor in the College of Nursing, was inducted as a Fellow of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners at their annual conference in June.

Originally posted on

South Dakota State University’s Robin Arends has been named one of 67 nurse practitioner leaders for induction to the Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) in June 2017.

The American Association of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) will honor this year’s FAANP inductees during the AANP 2017 National Conference at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia.

“When I was notified of receiving the honor of the fellowship, I was very humbled,” said Arends, a clinical assistant professor. “Nurses and nurse practitioners look at problems and find solutions to improve outcomes for our patients and the populations we serve. It is a privilege to be recognized for the work we do because health-care providers serve, not for the recognition, but because we want to better the health of patients and communities.

“With this fellowship, I join the leaders of our field who continue to inspire me with their practice, education, research and policy work,” she continued. “I continue to learn from these individuals and will continue to grow as well. This fellowship will bring additional opportunities to better health outcomes at the state and national level.”

Arends participated in the 2014 American Association of Colleges of Nursing’s second annual Faculty Policy Intensive and was named to the AANP Leadership Program that year. She has two degrees from SDSU, a master’s degree in 2008 with a family nurse practitioner specialization and a doctor of nursing practice degree in 2014.

“Writing the application allowed me to reflect on my career and the impact educators, providers, mentors and colleagues had on me as a person and as a professional,” Arends said. “I had the opportunity to think about how advice given to me early in my nursing career continues to impact me today. It also made me more aware of the leadership and mentoring I want to provide to others who are beginning their career or who are established in their profession, but exploring new opportunities.”

The FAANP program was established in 2000 to recognize nurse practitioner leaders who have made outstanding contributions to health care through clinical practice, research, education or policy. Fellows of AANP are visionaries and, as such, hold an annual think tank to strategize about the future of nurse practitioners and health care. The new fellows will continue to demonstrate leadership and contribute to the mission of AANP.



Telander receives Gallery of Nurse Excellence Award at Sanford Nursing Symposium

Erin (Telander) Johnson, a 2016 graduate of SDSU’s Clinical Nurse Leader (CNL) program recently earned the Gallery of Nurse Excellence Award for her poster presentation on Hospitalized Patients’ Perception of Soft Belly Breathing to Reduce Anxiety and Motivation for Continued Use in the Quality Improvement category at the 2017 Sanford Nursing Symposium – Advancing Nursing Practice: Empowering the Heart of Healing, in Fargo, ND in April.  Erin has also been selected to present at the Nursing’s Role in Transforming Healthcare 3rd Annual ND Center for Nursing Conference in Bismarck, ND October 12-13, 2017.  Erin is currently a CNL at the Fargo VA Healthcare System.

 Erin Telander Johnson award

Faculty Present at National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculty Annual Conference

SDSU FNP faculty presented poster presentations at the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculty’s annual conference. Presentations demonstrated innovative teaching strategies being utilized in courses.

Keefner attends AACN Student Policy Summit in DC

Tamara Keefner, a student in the 90-credit PhD program, attended the AACN Student Policy Summit, a three-day conference held in Washington, DC, open to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students enrolled at an AACN member institution. Students who attend the summit are immersed in didactic program sessions focused on the federal policy process and nursing’s role in professional advocacy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Arends selected for induction to the Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners

Arends, RobinThe Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) recently selected the nurse practitioner (NP) leaders for induction to FAANP in June 2017. Among those selected is Robin Arends. Arends is the first fellow selected for this group from South Dakota. Upon her induction in June, Arends will carry the credentials of FAANP.


AANP Fellows are selected based on outstanding contributions to clinical practice, research, education or policy. The Fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners (FAANP) impacts national and global health by engaging recognized nurse practitioner (NP) leaders who make outstanding contributions to clinical practice, research, education, or policy to enhance the AANP mission. From invitational Think Tanks to the Mentorship Program, FAANP is dedicated to advancing the NP profession.

Hendrickx attends AACN Clinical Nurse Leader Summit

Dr. Lori Hendrickx attended the AACN Clinical Nurse Leader Summit in Atlanta Georgia. Pictured with her are CNL student Larry Jenkins and SDSU CNL graduate John Mills.

The annual winter CNL Summit provides a national forum for all healthcare and academic audiences currently implementing or interested in exploring CNL education and practice. The Summit features the CNL Research Symposium, a pre-conference workshop hosted by the Commission on Nurse Certification (CNC) that focuses on the CNL’s role in data collection and evaluation for reporting clinical outcomes. Beginning in the 2017, these events will be offered in conjunction with the Master’s Education Conference (