Students present at MNRS

Three SDSU graduate nursing students presented their posters at the 42nd Annual Midwest Nursing Resarch Society (MNRS) meeting held April 12- 14, 2018 in Cleveland, Ohio.

Alex Draisy, PhD student
Michelle Abraham, DNP graduate
Tammie Keefner, PhD student

Avera St. Luke’s Hospital awards 4 scholarships

Four nursing students, who are currently enrolled in the 2018 Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program through the South Dakota State University, have been awarded the Avera St. Luke’s Nursing Scholarship for the 2018/19 academic year. The recipients will receive an award that will pay for half of their tuition for the program.

Recipients of this year’s scholarship are:

·         Shawna Malsom, Aberdeen, S.D.

·         Hayley Merkel, Hot Springs, S.D.

·         Sara Siefken, Aberdeen, S.D.

·         Corrina Koehn, Aberdeen, S.D.

Avera St. Luke’s Hospital created this program to assist students pursuing education in the health care vocation of nursing to address the need for positions in long-term care, inpatient medical, surgical, pediatrics and swing-bed.

The accelerated BSN option is for students who have completed a bachelor’s degree in any field and wish to obtain a BSN degree. The program takes 12 months to complete and starts once a year. The accelerated option is offered in Aberdeen and Sioux Falls. The recipients of this year’s scholarship are scheduled to complete the program in December of 2018.

“The scholarship is for a total $20,000. An award of $10,000 is provided while in the program and a bonus of $10,000 is awarded in the first two years of employment. Recipients have dedicated a two-year minimum commitment to working n the Long-Term Care and Medical/Surgical/Pediatrics floors at Avera St. Luke’s Hospital in Aberdeen, SD.

#MeetSDStateNursing – Jazmine

This week’s #MeetSDStateNursing features Jazmine! Born and raised in Rapid City, SD and an enrolled member of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe, Jazmine is working on her Bachelor’s of Science in Nursing at the Rapid City site. She is in the standard program. She plans to graduate in December 2019. Jazmine chose to attend SDSU College of Nursing because she said, “It is a highly reputable college known for graduating the area’s most knowledgeable nurse leaders.” It was also convenient for Jazmine to stay in her home town.

Jazmine enjoys growing and learning alongside her cohort, and credits the College of Nursing Native American Nursing Education Center (NANEC), at our Rapid City site, with helping her grow as a leader and future nurse by providing funding, resources, scholarship information and mentoring. She credits the NANEC for being her “personal cheer-leading squad.” Jazmine said “Bev, Cassi and Tina are so helpful and they all go above and beyond for their students.”

After graduation, Jazmine plans to continue working at Regional Health. She has interest in the areas of labor and delivery, ONS and pain management. She hopes to continue  her education and eventually get a Master’s in Nursing. She would like to become a Nurse Practitioner.

Jazmine’s advice for new students is to get organized, use a planner and set aside time to study for each class in small increments. She says, “Remember this experience is YOURS, find what works for you and make the best of it.” Great advice, Jazmine!

#MeetSDStateNursing – Jenn Vipond

Gibson receives award

Gibson, Nicole_1

Nicole Gibson has been recognized as the AANP South Dakota Nurse Practitioner Advocate award winner. According to, the Advocate State Award for Excellence is given annually to an individual in each state who has made a significant contribution toward increasing awareness and recognition of NPs. Examples of past recipients have been physicians, legislators, educators, etc. NPs are also eligible for the advocate award for non-clinical practice initiatives related to leadership, precepting, policy, politics, research, education, or community affairs.

Varilek selected to serve on GNSA Leadership Council

Brandon_VarilekThe American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) selected graduate nursing student, Brandon Varilek to serve on the 2017-2019 Graduate Nursing Student Academy Leadership Council. The Leadership Council consists of 10 graduate nursing student members who serve a two year term to help shape the formation of the GNSA and provide direction on what programs, services, and resources should be developed to meet the needs of nursing students in master’s and doctoral degree programs. 

Issacson and Minton attend Sigma Theta Tau Research Congress in Ireland

Dr. Mary Isaacson and Dr. Mary Minton represented South Dakota State university at the Sigma Theta Tau 28th International Research Congress held July 27-31 in Dublin, Ireland. The congress was attended by over 2,200 nurse leaders and students from across the globe who gathered to learn from evidence based research presentations.


%d bloggers like this: